Hon Andrew Little

Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

Proactive release – Oral Item: Update on Pressures on the 2019/20 Treaty Settlement Work Programme

Date of issue: 27 August 2019

The following document has been proactively released in accordance with Cabinet Office Circular CO (18) 4.

No.	Document	Comments
1	Cabinet minute Cabinet Office Meeting date: 27 08 2019	Some parts of this information are not appropriate for release and have been withheld under section 9(2)(f)(iv) of the Official Information Act 1992 to maintain the constitutional conventional which protects the confidentiality of advice tendered by Ministers and Crown officials.



Cabinet Māori Crown Relations: Te Arawhiti Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Oral Item: Update on Pressures on the 2019/20 Treaty Settlement Work Programme

Portfolio

Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

On 27 August 2019, the Cabinet Māori Crown Relations: Te Arawhiti Committee (MCR):

- 1 noted that there are:
 - 1.1 five Treaty of Waitangi historical claims settlement negotiations not yet commenced;
 - 1.2 14 groups that have previously negotiated but declined Crown offers for settlement;
- noted that the Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations intends to continue negotiating with those that have not yet settled, but that departmental resourcing may delay this;
- noted that there is increased litigation, for which the Waitangi Tribunal can make binding recommendations;

s9(2)(f)(iv)

directed officials from Te Arawhiti to report back to MCR with advice on the overall picture of settlements yet to be completed and the financial implications, including from potential binding recommendations.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Kelvin Davis (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon Willie Jackson

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for MCR